THE SOUTHEASTERN CONFERENCE



Setting the Standard for Intercollegiate Athletics

EQUESTRIAN

Equestrian is the newest Southeastern Conference sport, now entering its fourth year after being added as the conference's 21st sport in June 2012.

While the SEC teams will vie for the fourth league title in conference history in 2016, the four equestrian programs of the SEC have been national powers for more than a decade.

Four members of the SEC - Auburn, Georgia, South Carolina and Texas A&M - currently sponsor equestrian. The four current members of the SEC are the only teams in the history of the sport to win NCEA Overall Team National Championships.

South Carolina became the first-ever SEC Equestrian Champion in 2013 and defended its title in 2014. Georgia won the 2015 SEC Equestrian Championship. The 2016 event will be held at Bishop, Ga., and will be hosted by the University of Georgia.

Each SEC team will face every other SEC team twice each season - both at home and away. Seeding for the conference championship is determined based on team winning percentage during each squad's six-meet regular-season SEC schedule.

Georgia has talled a league-leading six overall NCEA national championships, including three consecutive from 2008-10. Auburn and South Carolina have won three overall national titles, while Texas A&M has two overall national titles to its credit. The Gamecocks are the defending NCEA Champions.

NCEA	NATIONA	L CHAMPI	ONIC
NUEA	NATIUNA		

2002	Texas A&M
2003	Georgia
2004	Georgia
2005	South Carolina
2006	Auburn
2007	South Carolina
2008	Georgia
2009	Georgia
2010	Georgia
2011	Auburn
2012	Texas A&M
2013	Auburn
2014	Georgia
2015	South Carolina

NOTES

- The four current SEC equestrian programs have won every NCEA National Championship in history, dating back to 2002.
- Since equestrian became an SEC-sponsored sport in advance of the 2012-13 season, an SEC equestrian team has been ranked No. 1 in the nation in 32 of 41 possible NCEA National Team Rankings entering the 2015-16 season.
- SEC equestrian student-athletes have earned 22 first-team NCEA All-America honors since 2012-13, an average of more than 7.3 first-team All-Americans per season.
- An average of 111 SEC equestrian student-athletes have been named to the SEC Academic Honor Roll over the past three years.
- Sixty-five SEC equestrian student-athletes have been named NCEA first-team Academic All-Americans since 2012-13 for an average of 21.7 first-team Academic All-Americans per season.
- South Carolina head coach Boo Major has won back-to-back NCEA Coach of the Year distinctions. The honor was first established in 2012.
- The Georgia equestrian team was a recipient of the 2014 SEC Sportsmanship Award.
- Auburn student-athlete Allie Dusha won the NCEA's inaugural Elite Equestrian Award in 2015, given to the student-athlete with the highest cumulative GPA on a top-four team from the NCEA National Championship.